The 2020 Nominees are:

Best Singer/Songwriter

Gregory Page

Joe Rathburn

Lee Coulter

Marie Haddad

Nick Crook

Nina Francis

Ryan Hiller


Best Jazz

Charlie Arbelaez

Danny Green

Ed Kornhauser

Euphoria Brass Band

Gilbert Castellanos

Joshua White

Sue Palmer & Her Motel Swing Orchestra


Best Jazz Album

Jake Najor & the Moment of Truth – In the Cut

Kamau Kenyatta - The Elegent Sadness

Mattson 2 - Paradise

Nathan Hubbard Trio - This Stream

Patrick Yandall – When Its Hip

Sean Hicke – Sunflower Sutra

Shambhu – Lilac Skies


Best Blues

Anthony Cullins

Black Market III
Casey Hensley

Mercedes Moore

Robin Henkel

Taryn Donath

Whitney Shay


Best Blues Album

Little Hurricane - Love Luck

Robin Henkel - With Horns

S. Mathias - The Memphis and London Sessions

Shane Hall - West River Queen

Sue Palmer - Gems Vol. 2

Wayne Riker - R & B Thunder


Best Country or Americana

Berkley Hart

Kimmi Bitter


Sara Petite

Stephen El Rey

The Donnis Trio

The Sleepwalkers

Best Country or Americana Album

Blind Mountain Holler - Dark Daughters

Calamity – Pleasure Plug

Joel Rafael – Rose Avenue

Levi Dean & the Americats – Free and Untethered

Morgan Leigh Band - Stripped Down Live Acoustic

The Sea Monks - Gasoline

Trouble in the Wind - All the Boys


Best Hip Hop or Rap

Biggie Babylon 


Kwamé Badu



Riston Diggs & Sly Beats

Vokab Kompany


Best Hip Hop or Rap Album

Black Hesher - Portals

Bloodstone - Gameface

Cali Kev - 1-900-Cali-Kev

Def Shon – Throwback Music

Finn McCool - Maslows

Parker Meridien - The Bully Pulpit

The Beautiful State - Visitors


Best Indie / Alternative

Aviator Stash

Fashion Jackson

Imagery Machine

Nights Like Thieves

Shake Before Us

The Hiroshima Mockingbirds

Wild Wild Wets


Best Indie/Alternative Album

Aviator Stash – Prescribed

Pinkeye - Ipecac Suite

Ready Set Survive - Young & Dumb
Via Satellite - A Thousand Mountains

Ten Bulls - Physicians Magician

The Frights - Live at The Observatory

The Oxen - S/T


Best Pop

Birdy Bardot

Dani Bell & The Tarantist

Evan Diamond

Jonny Tarr


The Spiritual Motels

Veronica May

Best Pop Album

Babydoll Warriors – Love, Bite, Baby

Chloe Lou and the Liddells - Storybook

Hummingbird Hotel - S/T

Larry Grano – Ladies & Gentlemen, Introducing Larry Grano

Le Chateau - Picture This

Lindsay White – The Funeral

Savannah Philyaw – A Whisper in the Wind


Best Rock

Author & Punisher

Band of Gringos

Beach Goons

Electric Mud

Elektric Voodoo 


The Farmers


Best Rock Album

Alvino & the Dwells – S/T

Avenue Army – Holding Steady

The Paragraphs - S/T

The Schizophonics - People In The Sky

The Strawberry Moons - S/T

The Tourmaliners – Tourmaline Dream

Wicked Echoes - The Fallacy of Finality


Best World Music

B-Side Players

Cumbia Machin


Quel Bordel

Split Finger

Tribal Theory

Yale Strom & Hot Pstromi


Best World Music Album

Boostive - Cream Supreme

Buck O Nine – FunDayMental

David Maldonado - Davicas XX

Gaby Aparacio - La Bella Vita

Marujah - Gypsy Noise Ritual

No Kings - Lost Weekend

SM Familia – The Journey So Far…


Best Local Recording

Daytrip – Come Alive

Gary Wilson – King of Endicott
Sacri Monti - Waiting Room for the Magic Hour

Sure Fire Soul Ensemble  - Build Bridges

Rafter - A Sploded Battery
Sahara Grim – Abstracted
SLUKA - Ready to Connect

Best Live Band
Baby Bushka
Rebecca Jade & the Cold Fact
The Creepy Creeps
The Routine
The Schizophonics 
The Spice Pistols


Best New Artist

Chunky Hustle Brass Band

Doom Bloom

The Shanghais R & B
Sean Hicke

Thee Sacred Souls


Artist of the Year

As I Lay Dying


Rebecca Jade

Slightly Stoopid


The Frights 

The Sleepwalkers


Song of the Year

As I Lay Dying - Blinded

blink-182 – Blame it My Youth

Hirie – She Go

Little Hurricane – Love Luck

P.O.D. – Rockin’ With The Best

Switchfoot – The Strength to Let Go

The Frets – Naïve Adolescence

Album of the Year

blink-182 – Nine

Cattle Decapitation – Death Atlas

David Maldonado - Davicas XX

Hirie - Dreamer

Karl Denson Tiny Universe - Gnomes & Badgers

Mattson 2 - Paradise

Switchfoot – Native Tongue

Follow SDMA on Social

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
klover logo_black.png

2020 Partners


© 2020 San Diego Music Awards / SDS Events