The following are the winners from the 13th annual 

San Diego Music Awards, held on October 14, 2003

at Humphreys Concerts by the Bay:

Best Cover or Tribute Band: Rockola

Best Jazz: Jaime Valle & Equinox

Best Acoustic: Steve Poltz

Best Blues: The Bill Magee Blues Band

Best World Music: B-Side Players

Best Americana: Eve Selis

Best Hip Hop: Alfred Howard & the K23 Orchestra

Best Pop: A.J. Croce

Best Rock: Noise Ratchet

Best Alternative: Hot Like (A) Robot

Best Punk: Agent 51

Best Electronic: The Album Leaf

Best Country: Coyote Moon

Best New Artist:The Accident Experiment
Artist of the Year: Jason Mraz

Best Pop Album: Switchfoot-The Beautiful Letdown

Best Rock Album: Reeve Oliver-The Reevolution EP

Best Alternative Album: No Knife-Riot for Romance

Best Punk Album: Agent 51-The Red & the Black

Best Hard Rock Album: Cattle Decapitation-To Serve Man

Best Blues Album: Sue Palmer-Live at Dizzy’s

Best Jazz Album: Karl Denson’s Tiny Universe-The Bridge

Best Americana Album: Nickel Creek-This Side

Best Local Recording-am Vibe (self titled)

Album of the Year: Switchfoot-The Beautiful Letdown

Song of the Year: Jason Mraz-The Remedy


Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Marillo