What are the San Diego Music Awards?

The San Diego Music Awards started in 1991, as a way to recognize the achievements of our diverse local music community. Now in its 33rd year, the San Diego Music Awards presents awards in multiple categories, recognizing many different genres of music including Rock, Jazz, Hip Hop, Americana and World Music. Past performers include Jewel, Jason Mraz, Switchfoot, P.O.D., Sara Watkins (Nickel Creek). The San Diego Music Awards is the primary fundraising vehicle for the San Diego Music Foundation’s Guitars for Schools Program.

Beneficiary: The San Diego Music Foundation

The San Diego Music Foundation has been actively involved in keeping participatory music programs in San Diego County elementary, middle, and high schools for over 33 years. The Guitars for Schools program was launched, in partnership with Taylor Guitars, as a way to augment existing programs and to offset the loss of arts instruction due to budget cuts. The guitar familiarity and popularity among young people makes it an excellent tool for getting them interested in music, and in performing arts in general. Over its history, the organization has served over 91000 K-12 students in 123 schools (85 currently active) from the Mexican border to San Onofre.

Contact us if you would like more information about the Guitars for Schools program, or would like to involve your school.

Participating Schools

Elementary Schools
Barnett Elementary
Bonsall West Elementary

Cajon Park School 
Capri Elementary
Carlton Oaks Elementary

Carver Elementary School
Clearview Elementary
Connect Academy
Crest Elementary
Crown Point Jr. Music Academy
Dewey Elementary School
El Camino Creek Elementary
Empressa Elementary
Family Justice Center
Fay Elementary
Flying Hills Elementary
Heritage Elementary
Holmes Elementary
Hope Elementary
Jefferson Elementary School
Julian Elementary
La Costa Heights Elementary
La Mesa-Spring Valley Schools – Rolando
LePort School Carlsbad Village
Live Oak Elementary
Longfellow Elementary
Magnolia Elementary
Merit Academy
Oak Park Music Conservatory
Ocean Knoll Elementary
Old Town Academy
Pepper Drive School 
Perry Elementary
Riverview Elementary
Rolando Elementary
Rolando Park Elementary
San Onofre Elementary
Sequoia Elementary
Stone Ranch Elementary
Temple Heights Elementary
Tierra del Sol Elementary
Tip Academy
Twin Oaks Elementary
Valley Center Primary
Vista Academy
Vista Christian School
Wolf Canyon Elementary

Middle Schools
Castle Park Middle School
College Prepatory Middle School

Dana Middle School
Greenfield Middle School
Heritage Junior High school
High Tech Middle School
Jefferson Middle School
Joan McQueen Middle School
Lakeside Middle School
Mann Middle School
Marshall Middle School
Monroe Clark Middle School
Olive Peirce Middle School
Tierra del Sol Middle School
Roosevelt International Middle School
Wilson Middle School

High Schools
Crawford High School
El Capitan High School
High Tech High Chula Vista
High Tech High International
High Tech High Liberty Station
High Tech High Media Arts
High Tech High North County
Hoober High School
Mission Vista High School
Mission Bay High School
Santana High School

Other Schools
Americas Foundation Fundacion de las Americas
America’s Finest Charter School
Classical Academy Vista
Darnell Charter School
Diego Hills Charter School
Discovery Charter School
Excelsior Academy
Merit Academy
School for Entrepreneurship and Technology
Vista Christian School


2024 SDMA Awards Sponsors

  • Viejas
  • San Diego Reader
  • Ballast Point
  • Cutwater Spirits
  • Fox 5
  • KUSI
  • Taylor Guitars
  • Any Budget Printing & Mailing
  • Imagine Media Group, LLC
  • Studio West
  • Filippi’s PIzza Grotto
  • DoSD.com
  • The Melba Foundation
  • TMC Music