The following are the winners from the 16th annual 

San Diego Music Awards, held on September 18, 2006

at Viejas Concerts in the Park:

Artist of the Year  - Switchfoot 

Album of the Year  - Angels & Airwaves – We Don’t Need To Whisper

Song of the Year - Angels & Airwaves – The Adventure

Best Acoustic - Gregory Page

Best Alternative - Goodbye Blue Monday

Best Alternative Album - Transfer – Faded Signal

Best Americana - The Grams

Best Americana or Country Album - Berkley Hart – Pocket Change

Best Blues - Candye Kane

Best Blues Album – The Fremonts – Mighty Crazy

Best Country - Bastard Sons of Johnny Cash 

Best Cover or Tribute Band ­– Lady Dottie & the Diamonds

Best DJ  - DJ Fingaz

Best Electronic - The Album Leaf

Best Hard Rock - Cattle Decapitation

Best Hard Rock Album - Earthless – Sonic Prayer

Best Hip Hop - Defamation League

Best Hip Hop Album - Deep Rooted – Second Coming

Best Jazz – Jaime Vallle

Best Jazz Album - Gilbert Castellanos – Underground

Best Local Recording - The Jade Shader – Curse of the Tuatara

Best New Artist - Kite Flying Society

Best Pop - Get Back Loretta

Best Pop Album - AJ Croce – Cantos

Best Punk - The Plot to Blow Up the Eiffel Tower

Best Punk Album - Fifty on Their Heels – s/t

Best Rock - Reeve Oliver 

Best Rock Album - The Bloody Hollies – If Footmen Tire You

Best World Music - B-Side Players