Watch the 2020 San Diego Music Awards again!

to watch the show!

Follow SDMA on Social

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

2021 Nominees

Best Folk/Acoustic Song

Julia Sage - Midnight Songs in the Time of Corona Vol. 1

Kevin Begin & Tori Roze – All You’ve Known

Lee Coulter – Look Away

Lindsay White – Crickets

Pip Lewis – People Like You

Sutton James – The World Just Shut Down

These White Pigeons – Dangerisky


Best Jazz Album

Charles McPherson - Jazz Dance Suites

Christopher Hollyday - Dialogue

Ed Kornhauser - The Short Years

Jacquou Jazz - Pop Songs Avec la Touche Manouche

Patrick Yandall - Rouge River

Steph Johnson – So In Love

The Ghost Jazz Trio - Invisible Time


Best Blues Album

Casey Hensley - Good As Gone

Chickenbone Slim – Sleeper

Manzanita Blues - To Day 

Piatt Pund – Pund

S.Mathias & The Honeycombs - Nothin’ But The Blues

Wayne Riker - Blues Lightning

Whitney Shay - Stand Up!


Best Americana, Blues or Jazz Song

Amanda Cogan – Heart Pocket

Cindy Lee Berryhill – Woke Up From a Dream

Coral Bells – Not Today

Dead Broken Down - In The Dirt

Rosa’s Cantina – Kitchen Creek Road

Shane Hall – Under My Voodoo

Shay Skylar – Wherever You Are


Best Americana or Country Album

Atom Orr - As If Tomorrow

Claire Walding - Encanto

Coral Bells – Treehouse Tapes

Dave Preston – Lost & Found EP

Enter the Blue Sky – Wanderlust

Trouble in the Wind – Weird Living

Zach Phillips - The Wine of Youth


Best Hip Hop song

Blv3D – Feel Nice

Cory Blaze – Tonight

Crhymes - Tha Outro / Beat Boxin' (feat. Foxx & Harry Webb)

Élan Soreal  – Move With Me

K-Rock Tha Fantom (feat. Def Shon) – Pillow Talk

Keymon – Y’all Madd

Sloat Dixon - Sloat Style


Best Hip Hop or Rap Album

Black Hesher – Saints and Sirens

Bloodstone the Street Preacher – The Chosen One

General Jihad and Prime Minister PNutz – s/t

iD the Poet – Work Epic 3

PCH & Evolve One – Without Beginning

The Toven – Bigger Vibes

Vokab Kompany – Small Viktories


Best Pop Song

Astra Kelly - In This Life

Chandler Bay - Don't Fall Asleep

Maria San Roman - Paradise

Marie Haddad – Atlantis II

Sammy Bel Mar - Confession

The Verigolds - Julia

TonyaJae - Leave the House


Best Pop Album

Audrey Callahan - The Magic of Christmas EP

Chuck Charles - Hiya

Gregory Page - One Hell of a Memory

Surrija – s/t

Lauren Leigh – Flare

Love Angeles - The Scenic Route To Mars

The Naked I - They Got Thomas!


Best Rock Song

Cold Craft – Pain for Pleasure

Fuzz Huzzi – Let This Go

Justin Linn – Demons

Nada Robot – Got It Good

Sean Witkin – Shapeshifter

Suede Radio – The Premonition

Wicked Kin – A Rolling Stone

SDMA 20.jpg

Best Rock Album

16 – Dream Squasher

Electric Mud – Communication

King Gorm – s/t

Nights Like Thieves – The Forgotten

Sometimes Julie – Where Are You?

The Montell Jordans – Mud Flaps

The Rough – Clean Cut!


Best Indie/Alternative song

Ariel Levine – In This War Or The Next

Beta 7 – Charlie

Cambrian Shores - Coming Home

Hocus – Damage With Care

King Whisker – Television

Rorre – Anxiety Magnet

The Frets - Daisy


Best Indie/Alternative Album

Aviator Stash – Psiyh

Be Mine Phantom Valentine – End State

Blacks Beach Boys – s/t

Miss New Buddha – The Situation is Excellent

Nowhereland – Raw Honey

The Havnauts – Real Good Now

The Kabbs – s/t


Best World Music Album

Crucial Blend - No Bad Daze

Hemisphere – American Dreams

Maka Roots - Roots Tonic

Marujah - Only The Dead

New Leaf - Feels Like...

Spy Kids - Covert Action

Tribal Theory – Hell of a Night


Best R&B, Funk or Soul Album

Ambassadors of Soul - Socially Distant

Angela Leonard Band - ALB

Brisa Lauren - In Her Stillness...

Chauncey Maynor - It's A Vibe

Kahlil Nash – Transcendence

Le Blu – Find My Way

Wise Monkey Orchestra - Blink Of An Eye

Best Local Recording 

Charles Burton Blues Band - Live at Mojo Blues Bar

Fast Heart Mart – Corona Coaster Blues

Maria Antoinette – All My Strings

Michael Tiernan – Trading Cards for the Faithful

Skyler Lutes - Rewind

The Tourmaliners - Surfin' Christmas Carols

Tim Norton – Live Volume 1


Album of the Year

Alfred Howard – Writes Vol.1

Aviator Stash – PSIYH

Casey Hensley – Good As Gone

Ed Kornhauser - The Short Years

Electric Mud – Communication

Gregory Page - One Hell of a Memory

Whitney Shay – Stand Up!


Song of the Year

Aviator Stash – Hype

Gregory Page – Green Lights & Blue Skies

Rebecca Jade (with Jason Mraz) – Bad Wolves

SM Familia – Rise Up

Switchfoot – Joy Invisible (feat. Jenn Johnson)

The Frets – Tell

The Sully Band – Never Gonna Give Up


Best Video

Gregory Page – Right Now Not Tomorrow

Heavy Hawaii – Boy Don’t Drown

P.O.D. – Christmas Lullaby

Plunderbund - Home

Rebecca Jade (with Jason Mraz) – Bad Wolves

Switchfoot – Live from a Hot Air Balloon

The Monroes – Rosemary’s Daughter

MusicPower logo on White.jpg

2021 San Diego Music Awards are presented by